Space Empires V: The Revenge

Sorry, but I have to make another post on SEV, I just have to. The more I play this game, the more I love it, and being the sweet guy that I am, I want to share that love with you guys (and gals… please let there be gals).

I’m still playing the game I posted about earlier, me versus 4 AI opponents. So far I’ve eliminated 3 of them, mostly without to much trouble. Now, I don’t know if it was because I set the difficulty to low, or if the AI should more correctly be called AS (Artificial Stupidity), but when your empire consists of one (1) planet and zero (0) ships, you shouldn’t go out of your way to declare war on the guy who can kill stars, mkay?

I’m fascinated by the way the game allows you to customize your ships the way you see fit. Do I make my Cruiser an armored behemoth that can’t swat a fly, or do I make him a messenger of death, brimming with Graviton Guns and Anti-Proton Beams, but so weak that a single, lowly Fighter could take him down? Do I invest in Bombardment Weapons that will let me destroy everything on a planet and then build over the ashes of my enemies, or should I train Troops to take over the planet intact, subjecting the populace to my will? Decisions, decisions, decisions…

Numbers don’t mean as much as you’d expect. One time, 3 of my Cruisers where attacked by a fleet of 30 enemy ships. Outnumbered 10 to 1, I knew I was dead, but decided to try and take at least one of the bastards with me.

The game allows two modes for combat: Tactical, in which you control every single aspect of the battle, what weapons your ships use and against what enemies, formations, launching fighters and mines, stuff like that; and Strategic, in which you pre-set a strategy and just hope for the best. The problem with Strategic battles is that you can’t predict every single variable that will affect combat. Setting a strategy with incomplete information, and over which you will have no further control is just to complicated for me.

So I went with Tactical. And discovered, to my surprise and joy, that not only where my ships faster, but they also had greater weapons range than the enemy ships. And that allowed me to finish the battle with my 3 ships intact and having destroyed 10 of the enemy ships. Victory!

And I also found out that you can bribe enemy ships to join your side. You don’t even have to know where they are, your network of spies infiltrates the enemy’s systems and bribes them away! Truly a great feature and truly a great game. I heartily recommend you get it if you can.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

